As most of us know the Grammy’s aired this past weekend and did I watch it? Nope. Did you? Why didn’t I you ask? To be honest, I don’t care all that much about today’s “popular” music or musicians. I’m not going to judge anyone based on the music they listen to, I never would do that, because music is a driving force and is meant to inspire.

I was seeing a lot about the Grammy’s on my Facebook feed that night and a little the day after. Hell, even on the morning shows and entertainment shows I would see in passing. Adel this, Beyonce that. Ok, I get it, they are “popular” and shit Beyonce is preggers with Twins! so….? Lots of women and couples have twins all over the world. I feel like a lot of these entertainers get noticed not just for their music, but for their attempt at shock value. Which lets face it, there isn’t any anymore. Marilyn Manson did this shit YEARS ago! Now Lady Gaga, yes she is out there and very creative. She is one of the more “popular” musician that is really out in the public eye. Why her? Because she is honest to who she is, she doesn’t hide anything and just like everyone else on this earth she has had her phases, but each one in passing was a piece of her (Another topic for another time, I don’t believe in “it’s a phase” thing because even though we had done something odd or different for a period of time, doesn’t make it any less of who we are. It shapes us.) Another “popular” musician I respect is Katy Perry. Love her, always have, always will. Do I listen to her music all the time? No, I think I have two of her albums, but her as a person I like.

Now the difference from MUSICIAN and ENTERTAINER is that that a musician can write, perform and sing the material THEY create. An Entertainer gets noticed for gossip, trends and lifestyle BEFORE their music. (On that note I will also eventually bring up the Kardashians… Yeah I bet you can guess how I feel about them)

I know I am probably stepping on some toes with my opinions here, oh well, I’m sorry. But I’m sure you’d have some opinions about the stuff I listen to. I have a few favorite Go-To bands and a crap ton of others that I probably couldn’t even fathom listing, because there’s just so many and I’d leave so many out.

Now this band is one of my ALL TIME favorites and I got hooked waaaaay back in the ninth grade! They are VERY different and I adore them so so so fucking much! I have had the privilege of seeing them live a couple of times and I’m dying to see them again!

POWERMAN 5000

 

This was a Show back on July 7th 2015 one of the last times I got to see the band. I waited after the show and was LUCKY enough to snag a moment with Spider One, the bands lead singer. He was so kind to take a minute to get a pic with me and to sign my CD and then to later on “like” my pic on instagram, well that was just the icing on the cake!

Anywho, we ware getting off topic but I just wanted to give you a little taste of what I like to listen to. So like I was saying, a lot of the mainstream hootannanny stuff may be fine for most, I like different stuff. Sure I might find something on the radio that’s catchy, but it doesn’t  inspire or get me going that often. It’s in one ear and right out the other. Nothing memorable.

I WISH they would finally do a music award show that’s featured on normal non cable or dish networks that praise and feature more rock, metal and alternative musicians.

I will be featuring a different band each week undo my MUSIC tab so make sure you follow me and keep an eye out, you just might find your new favorite band! 

Signing Off.

Coffee Kisses and Cyanide Wishes,

-Danielle 

